Sign in with
Your question

New Computer Not Booting Up

Last response: in Systems
January 29, 2013 9:33:04 PM

I recently got my new computer built and its starting to have a problem. For a few days it worked fine, but now when I turn it on it says "BOOTMGR is missing". I go into the bios and my SSD which my windows is one, is not recognized. So I think thats why its saying the bootmgr is missing is because the SSD is not recognized. Iv updated all of my drivers, I have tried plugging the SSD into different SATA ports, and also tried different SATA cables. After plugging all the SATA cables in different SATA ports I got it to boot up, but then the next time I turned it on it when right back to saying the bootmgr is missing..This is my first time to build a computer, and Iv done all I know to do. So can anyone give me suggestions on what this problem is, and how to fix it? Thanks in advance.

More about : computer booting

January 29, 2013 9:53:52 PM

Which SSD ? You may need a firmware update .

But perhaps the first thing to try is to see if you have the latest BIOS for your motherboard .
I have seen some Asrock boards with UEFI BIOS behaving this way . An update , or even reinstalling the latest version of BIOS fixed the problem
m
l
January 29, 2013 10:02:03 PM

Its an 128gb Crucial M4. I havnt checked to see if the BIOS is up to date, but Ill do that right now. It is the Asrock x79 extreme 7
m
l
Related resources
January 29, 2013 10:13:57 PM

I believe that solved the problem. I updated the BIOS and it just booted up fine. Hopefully that was the problem. Thanks for the assistance. Ill follow up later incase that wasn't the only problem.

m
l
January 30, 2013 3:11:11 AM

Ok so it worked fine while it uploaded, and then I got off of it for a while. When I went to reboot the computer later, the same problem occurred. I went through the same process of downloading the BIOS update and it rebooted fine. Is this going to keep happening?
m
l
January 30, 2013 5:01:11 AM