Sign in with
Your question

HTPC Questions

Last response: in Systems
January 30, 2013 1:02:27 AM

Hey guys!

I have been using my PC to stream video to my PS3 for the last many many years. We started using Netflix (which we love), however if requires us to update the firmware on the PS3 all the time. My PS3 has started supporting less and less video files.

I have been contemplating just getting a WD TV box or a Samsung TV that will run the Plex app. However I have been thinking that maybe an HTPC might be fun to make and actually be a better choice.

So my questions are as follows:

How much should I expect to budget for a silentish ( Currently there is no theatre system just the TV speakers ) system that will also play games (Skyrim, civ5, and anything my 5 year old son might want to play) on my 32 inch HDTV?

What will I really be gaining over just a better box that streams? ( I am not sure what exactly an HTPC does)

Am I correct in thinking that there really is no need to upgrade something like this that often (unless I start playing more demanding games?

Thanks in advance. Also if there are things I might have missed go ahead and ask away.

Phad.

More about : htpc questions

January 30, 2013 12:22:48 PM

I recently went the HTPC route (thanks to this forum). I also looked at some of the cheaper set-top-box options (WDTV, Roku, etc). Some of the reasons I decided on HTPC:

Complete integration of all media including music. HTPC is all-purpose, whereas set-top boxes and smart TVs are really just designed for TV.

Option to do internal storage, including SSD. I believe WDTV only does external HDD for storage.

Ability to experiment with different operating systems (XBMC, Plex, etc), apps, and plug-ins, rather than be limited to built in proprietary software.