Sign in with
Your question

First build

Last response: in Systems
January 30, 2013 3:32:43 AM

Hey guys. I just joined Tomshardware and I'm fairly new to computer stuff. I want to build my first decent-gaming computer soon. My budget is ~$850 with a monitor. I don't live near a microcenter, which is why I chose AMD for a budget. The thing that I'm mostly worried about was the motherboard because I heard a lot of the bios system aren't compatible with Vishera unless you upgrade them. I chose the Asus mobo because I can do the usb flash bios if I need to. How's my first build? :D 

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($119.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ Best Buy)
Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($84.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($40.98 @ NCIX US)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($64.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: PowerColor Radeon HD 7870 XT 2GB Video Card ($219.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: SeaSonic 620W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($73.00 @ Amazon)
Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer ($16.99 @ Newegg)
Monitor: Asus VH232H 23.0" Monitor ($139.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $840.90
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-01-30 00:32 EST-0500)

Forgot to mention, I will do a little overclocking in the future to bring it to 4-4.3ghz.

More about : build

January 30, 2013 4:14:29 AM