help me get started

G

after much reading im going to choose mandrake. what is the best place to download? I am very new to linux. the main worry is setting up my cable modem. in windows all i have to do is put in my computer id and use winipcfg to get my ip address setup. here is a list for some of my hardware, I want to know if mandrake has built in support or if i will need special drivers

samsung syncmaster 753df monitor
sy-k7vta-b with duron 700
16 meg voodoo banshee pci
sound blaster live
I also have a cdrw drive I hope i can use in linux.

I think it would be a good idea for me to dual boot until I understand linux enough. I have a 20 gig seagate hard drive. how should i partition it? i was thinking c for linux, d for windows and maybe e for my backup stuff. i think i remember reading i should install windows first and then when i install linux it gives me the option for dual boot. is this correct? its been a while since i did this. any other tips to get me started? remember I'm just a normal guy and like to hear stuff in english.

lostinms

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I was thinking of getting Linux also but I was looking at Red Hat cause it is free off of their site. Now I need a cable or dsl so I can download it faster. it is over a 1gig. Suppose to be ver 7.0

Oh cool I was just looking at mandrake site and it is free also. Hmmmmmm redhat or mandrake.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by lostinms on 12/30/00 04:18 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

G

I've heard that Mandrake is a little more stable than the later Redhat versions. Personally, I've been pretty happy with Mandrake in general. However, I still cannot find a program that will allow me to connect to the internet via Linux yet. Maybe there's a dial-up option I have yet to locate. I'll have to keep working on it I guess...

Charles

silverpig

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
Go to www.linux-mandrake.com