Recommend a replacement GPU over an entry one

jjim26

Honorable
Dec 20, 2012
I am looking for a replacement GPU. My current GPU causes the occasional BSOD. This is my first time upgrading the GPU so I am not familiar with this process. Prior to my current PC, I have always used a IGP

My PC specs: (a Dell xps 8300)
CPU - i5-2310
Mobo - OY2MRG A00 (Dell)
GPU - AMD radeon HD 6450
PSU - 430W
RAM - 6GB
OS - win7 64bit Home

Budget range: My budget is $150 cdn before rebate. In canada I can expect a graphics to cost at least 10% more than in the USA. Often significantly more than 10%

Usage: My computer is primarily a HTPC. I would like to be able some recent games at a pretty good quality, highest not needed.

Monitor resolution: 1920X1080

I won't be doing any overclocking. I would also prefer a quiet card.

Preferred supplier - Using the Canadian versions, I would prefer amazon, memoryexpress, or NCIX. I am not against using newegg or tigerdirect.

I have been considering getting the sapphire radeon hd 7770 but I am not sure about it. I have concerns about using a card that needs a direct power input source. I am not sure how this is done and if my PSU supports it.

For the radeon Hd 7750, I do like that it is a single slot card and it doesn't require a second power source.

I am not familiar with with any of the manufacturers and whether some are better or worse.

Any help is appreciated

azathoth

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2011

Nothing to worry about by a card that takes its power from the PCIe slot, the motherboard designs don't skimp on this at all.

It is actually considered quite the plus for a card to take all of it's power from the motherboard, rather than requiring external power connectors.

Your PSU will be able to support it without a problem, so I highly recommend you find a good price on Newegg.ca, Canada Computers, or NCIX for the HD 7750/7770.

They will be the cards that everyone recommends for you, because they are perfect for your needs.

jjim26