Sign in with
Your question

HDMI gives BLANKSCREEN, VGA works fine.

December 21, 2012 6:59:28 AM

Hi, my name is Roger. I'm a professional software tester and have problems with installing my new monitor.

For Chrismas i got my self a (new) nice large monitor, it's a samsung. With this monitor i also payed for a special 'HDMI' cable. It wasn't included with the monitor it self.
With the monitor there was only a very cheap vga cable. You know the small flexible cables that will wind it self up, while looking at it. So i want my brand new monitor to work with the HDMI cable. And my old monitor to work with a normal (with shielding) VGA cable and connector.

The gear:

- Monitor = Samsung 24" - S24B350H (hdmi and analog)
- Motherboard with onboard graphics card: A75A-G55 (AMD chipset with saying: `Dual Graphics Ready` on the box !)
- Graphic card: AMD Radeon HD 6530D (With HDMI, VGA and VGA Sub-D)

Last but not least:
The crap where it has to work with: "Windows 7" (Because of my job) :-(

What happend so far:

(1) First i connected the HDMI and power everything on. (Everything connected first, then startup/boot !)
Nothing happend, my monitor was switching between "Analog" and "HDMI" and didn't find a signal. (Blankscreen)

(2) Then i connected the VGA and i got a picture, so i could install a driver because i could see something. When i install the driver i see two graphic cards, with the same name only a number in front of it. (1 and 2) If i install the driver i have to select my monitor out a list with two times my monitor in it. One for "Analog" and on for "HDMI".