Sign in with
Your question

Whats the best way to set up PC, PS3, Xbox

Last response: in Networking
January 24, 2012 5:43:59 PM

Hello,

After moving my room around and merging my office with my bedroom I now have a PS3, PC and Xbox 360s all in the same room next to each other.
My question is what's the best way to connect them to my router/Internet (currently downstairs)

Bit of info:
My router is a BT Home Hub 3 and it can’t be moved from where it is now as I have a master socket from BT in the wall with no socket upstairs or in my room to swap it too
My PC is has Gigabit port but is currently using wireless N Netgear adapter at 120 Mbps max
My PS is using wireless not sure what speed
And same goes for my Xbox

Ideally I’m thinking to use a powerline adapter from my router downstairs plugged into the gigabit port and then run it to my room and connect it some sort of splitter to which I would plug all three into something like this -

Any advice would be appreciated all I want to do is get a faster connection possible as I use my ps3 to listen to vidzone, pc and Xbox for online gaming
Also is powerline any good?

Thanks
Tim

More about : whats set ps3 xbox

January 24, 2012 6:13:48 PM

Powerline never gets anywhere near the rated speed, so if you do go that way, go with the 500megabit model and hope it works. Depends on your wiring and your luck. I just got a pair of ZyXEL PLA4205 adapters from Newegg for $80 on sale and they work pretty well on some circuit combinations.

Obviously, the fastest would be to run a CAT5e cable but that may be impractical.

Can you get a good wireless signal from the Netgear up there?

edit: if you run powerline or a cable up there connect it to an inexpensive switch or router in AP mode if you also want wireless up there.
January 25, 2012 6:17:12 AM

My router is BT and I get ok signal and doesn’t really drop out but I would prefer it a bit faster