Sign in with
Your question

What GPU I should get for gaming? MB Asrock z77 extreme4 & I5 3570K

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 21, 2012 3:46:42 PM

I'm new to this. I'm building a new one for gaming and photo editing right now. I have Mobo Asrock Z77 Extreme4 and CPU i5 3570k. What GPU should i get? a single high quality one or 2 mid range for SLI?
budget is about $300-$400.
Thanks,
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
December 21, 2012 4:22:41 PM

Going to have to agree with TheBigTroll, Get the GTX 670. A single high end card is pretty much always better than going 2 mid range cards. In my opinion the only reason to do SLI/Crossfire is if 1 high end card isn't enough power so you need 2 high end cards.
m
l
a c 82 U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
December 21, 2012 4:23:39 PM

there no reason the 7970 should be less stable, i know a few people who have em and run great.

any proof of instability?

m
l
a b U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
December 21, 2012 4:25:08 PM

iceclock said:
7970 is quite stable dude, and yeah the gtx 670 is quite good also.

both make great choices.

and if u can afford 60$ more the gtx 680 is def choice, if not the above is great.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Err your math is a bit off lol that is ~$97 more.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
December 21, 2012 4:26:48 PM

iceclock said:
there no reason the 7970 should be less stable, i know a few people who have em and run great.

any proof of instability?

I think he is referring to the frame latency issue. It is not a huge deal but it is slightly less "smooth" than the nvidias.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
December 21, 2012 4:28:18 PM

yeah they are good. just that i heard somewhere where they tested the cards and when slowed down, you can see the 7950 or 70 have a bit of stuttering
m
l
a b U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
December 21, 2012 4:31:31 PM

TheBigTroll said: