Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Newly built

Last response: in Systems
February 5, 2013 11:15:53 PM

So I just finished building my first PC, and I have never done it before so I only think I did things properly (basically just followed the instructions provided) and it turns on, the disc tray works, but I don't get any video or anything. I don't have an OS installed yet.

More about : newly built

February 5, 2013 11:17:03 PM

So I guess my question is if anybody knows what is wrong, or how I could find out what is wrong (preferably for free)
Score
Related resources
February 6, 2013 12:31:40 AM

Carefully follow all the steps here: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-ste...
(additionally check using onboard video if you have it, vs using discrete graphics card). I watched your video and the only "mistake" I see is using the bottom PCI-E slot - that one is often x8 or x4 speed only, but shouldn't cause a no-boot, just might be slower. Use the highest PCI-E slot first. Take everything apart and reconnect it all if you can't get it to work, that can fix issues with a bad connection/connection just barely not correct.
Score
February 6, 2013 1:16:08 AM

ok thanks, I should also note that my monitor isn't compatible with my video card so the monitor is currently plugged into the mother board, I have my hdtv connected to my video card via an HDMI cord though
Score
a b B Homebuilt system
February 6, 2013 1:30:48 AM

if your monitor isn't "compatible" with your video card, why do you have the gpu installed? remove it if you want to use onboard graphics.
Score
February 6, 2013 1:38:28 AM

Well I don't want to use onboard graphics, hence why I have the video card in the first place, and an hdmi cord plugs in just fine
Score
a b B Homebuilt system
February 6, 2013 2:40:01 AM