Closed Solved

Problem with DVI-I to VGA Adapter.

Hello, I'm sorry to bring up an adapter problem but I have tried several different things and can not find the solution. I have an XFX 7950 graphics card and a 10 year old Dell VGA monitor (which I am stuck with untill i buy a new monitor) and a Dynex DVI to VGA adapter. I understand that you would need DVI-I to work with my adapter and that is what I have on the back of my graphics card. I tried hooking the DVI end of the adapter into the graphics card and hooking one end of the VGA cable into the adapter and the other into my monitor, as i do this the monitor goes from displaying the color test screen to a blank black screen in standby mode. I have not done the removal of the 12th pin technique yet but I have tried 2 different monitors, 2 different cables all of which I know work, and 2 different adapters. This is my first build but I was able to get everything else working but for some reason im stuck at this monitor and I need to get it working. Also as a final note the fans on the video card are spinning which i'm not sure means anything but I would assume means I have power going to it.
12 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about problem adapter
  1. Did you attempt this while the computer was on or off. Also why aren't you using a DVI -D isn't that more or less what you should be using if you are wanting to convert from VGA to DVI. I'm not certain but I thought the DVI-I was more intended for higher resolution displays which may be your issue as well.
  2. I tried hooking it up on and off and both times the monitor went into standoff mode. My graphics card only has a DVI-I connector on it (or hdmi) but the adapter that plugs into it appears to be DVI-A. I do not know if this would be causing the problem or if I could find a way to use DVI-D.
  3. Best answer