Sign in with
Your question

Setting inter-dependency for services and programs on logon/logoff

Last response: in Windows 7
January 29, 2010 11:51:28 PM

Hello,

I'm just setting up a new Win7 Professional system, and I want to encrypt a partition on the hard-disk with TrueCrypt to store certain stuff including the data directory for MySQL.

However, the MySQL service would probably start before I'm logged-in and therefore throw a fit if the data dir isn't mounted yet. Likewise, I can't be sure MySQL will stop before the Truecrypt volume is dismounted at logoff/shutdown.

Is there any way I can make MySQL wait for the Truecrypt volume to be mounted after logon, and then stop it at logoff before Truecrypt dismounts? It seems it might be possible using Group Policy, but as I come from XP Home I've no experience of this tool.

PS - Just to make things more complicated, I'll mostly be logging in as a Standard User, so the solution has to work whoever logs in.

Not asking much eh?

Thanks!
a b $ Windows 7
January 30, 2010 3:27:08 AM

google is your friend
m
l
January 30, 2010 7:27:58 AM

Er... Well, no it hasn't been. I do try to find solutions for myself before seeking help y'know, it's just rather a complex issue and nothing I've dug up covers the extent of it.

If you have any suggestions on specific terms I could use in my googling, that would be considerably more useful than your post above, mate.
m
l
Related resources
a c 209 $ Windows 7
January 30, 2010 8:27:06 AM

I'm no MySQL expert, but it sounds to me like you could just set the MySQL service to "Manual" startup, and then have a batch file that runs at logon time which (a) starts up TrueCrypt, and then (b) starts up MySQL.

Similarly, you could use a logoff script to do the reverse. Logoff scripts are configured using the Group Policy editor in the Microsoft Management Console (MMC), which you set up as follows: