Mid-range 2D & 3D Design/Gaming Build

Mel17

Honorable
Feb 3, 2013
Hello all,

I’m a designer but also gamer who is looking to build a completely new set-up within the next month or so. I’m not so knowledgeable about what components are best for my needs so I’m asking for help selecting.
I do digital painting everyday and in between that use programs like 3DSMax and ZBrush to do 3D work. With this new system I’ll be playing a bunch of games in my free time, mainly the huge steam backlog of games I bought in the sales in anticipation of this build :) !! Watching movies, listening to music and internet browsing will also be common practice. I’m wanting this system to last around 4 years.
I’m happy to do things like searching for the best price for the components once I know what specification I’ll be needing.

Approximate Purchase Date:
As soon as I have decided on all the parts and can get the best offer for my timescale (needs to be up and running by at least mid March at the latest). Will be building it within 24 hours of the parts being delivered.

Budget Range: £1000-£1200 including shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
(I’ve linked the system requirements for some of the software)
Digital Painting using Corel Painter, Photoshop CS3 (might upgrade to CS6 after build)
3D modelling using 3DSMax, Maya, Mudbox and ZBrush
Regular Gaming: games such as Sleeping Dogs, Dead Island

Are you buying a monitor: Yes 1920x1080 resolution
I will be using a dual monitor set-up. Planning to buy either Dell UltraSharp U2312HM 23 inch or Dell Ultrasharp U2212HM 22 inch

Parts to Upgrade: All parts since it is a completely new build.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, Windows 7 Home Premium

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: These are ones that I’ve experienced/heard offer good customer service.
http://www.scan.co.uk/ (I have free delivery)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/
http://www.amazon.co.uk/
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/
http://www.dabs.com/