Sign in with
Your question

Help me choose Intel CPU

Last response: in Systems
February 7, 2013 2:59:24 PM

Ever since I built my current computer I have yet to upgrade anything and have always went with AMD in terms of my processor. I am now looking into investing some money into upgrades and am heavily favoring an Intel CPU. I don't do any serious gaming lately as I am a full time student but I play the occasional game (SCII, Withcher 2, etc). I mainly use my PC to surf multiple multiple tabs in Firefox, downloading w/ uTorrent, playing videos on my second monitor, etc..

If I were to buy an Intel CPU will it be compatible with the rest of my components (GPU, Ram, etc)? Basically I just need to switch the CPU (obviously) and buy a compatible motherboard correct?

If I were to buy a new CPU I'm currently looking most likely to buying an Intel i5 or i7 but wouldn't know which one to select or what exactly to look for.

What would you recommend for a new Intel CPU and compatible motherboard? I will definitely be over clocking as well and don't want my motherboard to hold me back (for instance my current motherboard doesn't have "vrm cooling")

Current Setup is below:
Ram: g.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2
Motherboard: ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
Power: 600W OCZ
Case: MidTower
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 460

More about : choose intel cpu

a b à CPUs
February 7, 2013 3:13:53 PM

Yeah you would have to Buy a new motherboard as well, the i5-3570k Is great bang for your buck. paired with a z77 motherboard, you will have no problem overclocking. Just make sure you buy a better cpu cooler.
m
l
February 7, 2013 3:31:34 PM

Alright well which z77 motherboard would you recommend? Also is "z77" a socket type or what
m
l
Related resources
February 7, 2013 3:36:55 PM

Wait for Intel's "Haswell" CPU's to come out. They should offer a little more performance. They are releasing them in the summer.
m
l
a b à CPUs
February 7, 2013 3:38:39 PM

The socket type is 1155.