Video Editing/General Use Build; NO Gaming

nemccraw

Honorable
Feb 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to read my post. I hope you guys can help me.

I want a computer that will be used primarily for video editing and general home use.

The video editing I will be doing will be not be professional. I barely have my feet wet with video editing. I have a contour +2 HD camera and few other DV 'helmet cams'. I don't have a preferred software, as I don't currently have a computer strong enough to run anything. I bought corel videostudio Pro X2, which is the oldest video editing software I could find that edits 1080p video. My computer still won't run it without crashing when applying effects. It's a gateway bought in early 2006 on a budget, not even worth mentioning whats inside it; just consider it to be completely trashed.

I'm currently a law enforcement officer going back to college, so I use the computer quite a bit for general use. My wife will be going back to school to get her masters next year, which means she will be using the computer more so than normal for general use. I figured we should go ahead and get a computer that will suit all needs: to last me through college, to last my wife through her masters, and allow me a computer powerful enough to edit video. I teach firearm classes and would like to use helmet cam footage of operating a firearm. The contour has a 480 resolution setting that captures at 120 fps, I hope to use this to slow video down and capture firearm techniques. The contour also captures 1920 X 1080 @ 30 fps and 1280 X 720 @ 60 fps. I help run a gun club which offers numerous firearm manipulations and tactics classes, and I would like to use all the above resolutions to compile advertising videos as well as videos to be used for instruction during classes. The contour outputs a .mov file that uses the H.264 codec and the other helmet cam I use most often outputs an .avi file that uses a 'motion jpeg' codec. This data has been collected