Sign in with
Your question

Is this a good and compatible build (FIRST TIME PC GAMER) HELP!

Last response: in Systems
February 8, 2013 1:13:45 PM

Hi i am completely new to pc gaming and was wondering if this was a decent build and more importantly compatible build

CPU - AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition (3.40 GHz)
GFX - XFX CORE EDITION RADEON HD 7870 (2048 MB) GDDR5
MOTHERBOARD - GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-USB3 AMD 760G (Socket AM3+) Micro-ATX
RAM - 8GB Mushkin Enhanced Silverline (2x4GB) 1333 (PC3-10666) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1.5V
INTERNAL HARD DRIVE - 750GB Hitachi Ultrastar SATA II 3.5"
OPTIC DRIVE - LiteOn 24x Internal SATA DVD RW Drive
CASE w/POWERSUPPLY - ARIAnet Element Black Midi Tower Case w/ 450W Power Supply

(Note: all of these items were purchased from ARIA.co.uk)

Total (inc. delivery) £393.37

Any advice or feedback will be nice, thank you :) 
February 8, 2013 1:33:45 PM

it should be OK. the Phenom II should work for most games, but is getting long in the tooth
February 8, 2013 1:44:12 PM

i would get a better motherboard you're looking at putting a micro-atx motherboard in a mid tower case right now
Related resources
February 8, 2013 4:56:35 PM

What do you mean by long in the tooth, and if not the phenom which cpu should i get?

What motherboard would you recommend i get instead of my current one hopelessnoob, or what do you recommendni do instead?
February 8, 2013 6:08:06 PM

if i could spend more money i would go with this one
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
because i never know when i'll need the extra pci slots for something like a second graphics card or a tv tuner
but if you plan on keeping that build until you need to get a whole new set than you can stick with the micro-atx

OH VERY IMPORTANT
i forgot to mention that your graphics card requires a minimum of a 500 watt power supply and the one included is only a 450 watt psu
February 8, 2013 6:19:41 PM