Is this a good and compatible build (FIRST TIME PC GAMER) HELP!

Hi i am completely new to pc gaming and was wondering if this was a decent build and more importantly compatible build

CPU - AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition (3.40 GHz)
RAM - 8GB Mushkin Enhanced Silverline (2x4GB) 1333 (PC3-10666) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1.5V
INTERNAL HARD DRIVE - 750GB Hitachi Ultrastar SATA II 3.5"
OPTIC DRIVE - LiteOn 24x Internal SATA DVD RW Drive
CASE w/POWERSUPPLY - ARIAnet Element Black Midi Tower Case w/ 450W Power Supply

(Note: all of these items were purchased from

Total (inc. delivery) £393.37

Any advice or feedback will be nice, thank you :)
10 answers Last reply
More about good compatible build first time gamer help
  1. it should be OK. the Phenom II should work for most games, but is getting long in the tooth
  2. i would get a better motherboard you're looking at putting a micro-atx motherboard in a mid tower case right now
  3. What do you mean by long in the tooth, and if not the phenom which cpu should i get?

What motherboard would you recommend i get instead of my current one hopelessnoob, or what do you recommendni do instead?
  4. if i could spend more money i would go with this one
    because i never know when i'll need the extra pci slots for something like a second graphics card or a tv tuner
    but if you plan on keeping that build until you need to get a whole new set than you can stick with the micro-atx

i forgot to mention that your graphics card requires a minimum of a 500 watt power supply and the one included is only a 450 watt psu
  5. By "getting long in the tooth" they are politely saying it's old. The Phenom II x4 965 Black Edition was released in 2009. It's getting on 4 years old.

Still an awesome processor for the price though tbh.

I would suggest going for the FX-4300 but this is around £20 more expensive so depends how tight your budget is.