Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Question about cord hookups.

Last response: in Systems
February 8, 2013 6:05:44 PM

I got my sapphire video card and my corsair cx600 power source today and I have a few questions about general hook up. The PCI-E cords (2) coming from my cx600 don't seem to fit with the sapphire's PCI-E sockets. The sapphire came with two PCI-E cords that DO fit into the sapphire (obviously). The other end of this PCI-E cord is male, and looks like it can be inserted into the power sources other cord (female). Is this the correct hook up?

This is my first time building a computer, so I also need to ask:

Will the wrong hookup possibly damage my computer in any way?

How do I know if everything is hooked up correctly?

There are extra ends on the cords coming out of the cx600, do I need to have these covered?

Are there possibly cords from the power source that I won't use?

More about : question cord hookups

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
February 8, 2013 7:11:18 PM

What video card do you have? It will most likely use the PCI-E 6 pin (there is a 6+2 pin for highend cards, but you most likely will not use these) Your PSU, from what I looked up, should have (2) PCI-E 6+2 pin cables. You will use the 6pin part and the little 2 pin will just hang loose for each of these you use. Very few cards use an 8pin (6+2) connector. They do fit, just make sure you aren't trying to plug them in upside down becasue each of the little 6 pins are keyed.

The power adapter(s) that came with your card are most likely a 4pin Molex to 6 pin PCI-E adapter. You will not use these since your PSU has these cables already. Just store them with your manuals.