Upgrade or Buy New

jamiestaton

Honorable
Feb 8, 2013
Hi guys, this is my first time posting here so please be gentle, I am fairly computer savvy but not to any great extent.
Ok here is the thing, I am after a gaming PC to play the likes of COD, Battlefield and other graphic intensive games at max level,
Here is my current spec

Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 1GB
3 GB DDR2 Ram

I have a 1 TB hardrive i guess I could use with the new system and I had to buy a new power supply 750W which I imagine should be sufficient and my current case which is a Gigabyte GZ-X1-BPD Tower.
I know my RAM is fairly low for gaming so I would be hoping to upgrade to a motherboard that has the capacity for 16gb in the future with me possibly putting 8gb in the meantime.
My graphics card is maybe 2 years old,
My questions are... Is my system so obsolete that I should bin the whole friggin thing and start from scratch or can i salvage some of my existing parts and maybe just replace the graphics card or the processor.
Can I buy a new motherboard and processor and use my existing graphics card for the time being?
Is it the RAM that is the problem with newer games or is it my graphics?

To upgrade the rig in any significant way, you will pretty much need a whole new rig.
You could re-use the HDD, optical (if its SATA) and the case (though I would replace it). Everything else will end up being replaced.

No one thing is the problem with the rig, its actually quite balanced and would have been a decent performer back in the day. Its just that they are all old parts and have become outdated.

If you only have the cash to upgrade the rig. Maybe get something like a HD7750 or 7770, any better than that and I suspect the card will be bottlenecked by the rest of the system.
If you have the cash for a new system, I suggest you do that. If you want advice on a new rig, fill out this form. It will give us the info needed to best help you.