Sign in with
Your question

Gtx 660 ti install help needed

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 25, 2012 3:29:20 PM

I am not very good with technical Pc stuff so I would be grateful for any help you can give me regarding upgrading my Graphics Card. The card has already been bought. What I need advice about is installing the Graphics Card, in particualr the power supply compatibilty.

This is my Pc
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&lc=en...

The PSU in the machine is specs here
http://allpcpower.com/pca246.aspx

The Graphics Card I have to install is
http://www.dabs.com/products/evga-geforce-gtx-660-ti-98...

So the card says minimum of 450w and my PSU says 460w, yes I understand that some PC's come with not so great PSU's and that I really should upgrade the PSU, but money is tight and the card was a gift.... I was hoping I could get away with it :/ 

But my main issue is connecting up the new card with the PSU, I opened up the case and I found one loose 6 pin coming from the PSU inside the case already, but the card needs 2.... it came with 2 x 4 pin to 6 pin power cables but i have no idea where or how I connect these up to the PSU. I have never really done anything like this with a PC before.

Anyone tell me if I could connect it up with the loose 6 pin in the case already then use one of the cables it came with to connect the other, but where do the 2x4 pin to 6 pin hook up, I know where to connect to on the GPU its just the PSU end Im not sure about

The reason I got the 660 ti is that it requires less power than the 560 ti so I was hoping I wouldnt need to upgrade the psu

So 1, can I hook it up with the current PSU

So to recap the current gpu is not using power from the psu that I can see, inside the case I have one loose 6 pin connector coming from the PSU so how do I go about connecting another

Sorry for the lack of technical knowledge

More about : gtx 660 install needed