Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First Gaming Rig Build - Advice on current system

Last response: in Systems
February 9, 2013 8:35:26 PM

So I have been wandering the forum for about the past 2 months looking at review and part comparisions for my future FIRST build and I have come up with a reasonable build I am happywith. I am just looking for some general opinions :D 

The Plan:

Price range: NZD$ 1800-2200 which as about 1500-1700 USD

Build Date: Start purchasing parts about the beginning of march

Current Build:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/Ct9Y

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Pretty set on this CPU

Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6 OR MSI Z77A -GD65
Cant really decide but they are both similar

RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory
Any suggestions here would be great, looking at 16 (2 x *GB) set up and Ripjaw series has pretty good reviews

Storage: Intel 330 Series 240GB 2.5" Solid State Disk
Looking for suggestions for a mechanical drive also

GPU: MSI N670 PE 2GD5/OC (GTX670 power Edition) OR MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Im stuck here.... But mainly leaning towards the 670 as it is 140 USD cheaper AND I would have to import the lightning into New Zealand from the US (I assume PC parts are universal country wise??)

Case: Cooler Master Storm Stryker (White)
Love this case, Pretty set on it :D 

PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply
NEED HELP lol I just saw this PSU with good recommendations...

Overall Price: 1390 USD

Still looking around for a CPU heatsink. I am open to any suggestions and I still have a little more room budget wise :D 
Cant wait to get this project under way.

Best solution

February 9, 2013 8:55:53 PM

Quite a good start.
Here are my thoughts:

1. No need for an expensive enthusiast motherboard. And... how many expansion slots do you really need? For most of us, it is just one for the graphics card.