my DVD rom doens't work, help please!!

G

I'm building a new computer, and I can't get the pioneer 106s dvd-rom to work. When I put in a CD/CD-R/CD-RW/DVD, none of them work. The light on the drive doesn't blink when the disk inserted, sometimes i hear a spinning sounds and then stops but that's about it. When I try to double click on the drive, it says "please insert a disk into
drive e:".

When I boot up into win2k the first time, the drive is automatically regconized and the driver was installed directly from windows. When I check the device manager, it says the drive is working properly. So I thought maybe the driver is outdated, so I tried to install the driver downloaded off their website and it won't install for some reason.

I have my HD on primary master, plextor CD-rw on secondary master, and the pioneer is on secondary slave. I have a XP1900, Asus A7v266-e, win2k system.

Do I have a broken drive, or am I doing something wrong? PLease help!

Amy

svol

Champion
If your drive is connected properly and displays normal but you can't read CD from it you have a great chance that it is broken.
I have a old 16x drive and and once it wouldn't work, it was detected by Windows but it wouldn't read any CD and refused to start spinning. After I opened it (wasn't under guaranty anymore) it seemed that the device that moves the laser was stucked and when I reseated it it ran perfectly again.

My case has so many fans that it hovers above the ground :eek: .

G

I just bought this drive a week ago from micropro.com
they seem to have pretty good return/exchange policy according to their website. I'll give that a try.

Last night I was also able to install the driver off their website successfully. I guess that's also an indication that the drive is physically broken.

Thanks again,
Amy

svol

Champion
I don't know what kind of frivers there are (DOS or Windows) but if you still can't read from a CD with those drivers it also indicates that it is broken.

G