Y580 Questions

TGR_15

Honorable
Feb 10, 2013
Hello! This is my first time on the community and I know this place has some awesome people here. Basically, I bought a new Lenovo Y580 from the Lenovo website with a 32 GB SSD and a 1 TB HDD. I wanted to optimize the computer to being very efficient and running the quickest as it can. The laptop came with Windows 8 as well. I've also realized that the BIOS for this computer is limited for some reason :??: Are there any ways for me to make this very good for a few games I play such as Team Fortress 2 on Steam without paying money?

You picked an excellent laptop for gaming. Games need video. The Y580's video chipset is not changeable. It is what it is. Nothing much will change your results.

You have a NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX660M, which is more than decent for a laptop. You should be able to game fine with it. There is not much you can do to make it game faster. With the right tool you can mildly overclock the video, but you will run into heat problems doing that in a laptop especially as you build up dust inside the laptop over time.

The guys at notebookcheck do a good job reviewing, here is your laptop reviewed. http://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-IdeaPad-Y580-20994BU-Laptop-Review.78974.0.html

Here is team fortress on a gtx660m. Very playable. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1I9CS-xXPg

TGR_15

Honorable
Feb 10, 2013
Thanks tsnor! I have a few questions and I need to clear some things up. It turns out that the SSD that came with my computer was actually used to cache the HDD so my bad. The drive I was looking at in "My Computer" turned out to be a partition used to hold my drivers and possibly, some other things for some programs that came with the computer.