Laggy New Build :(

lemongrassmari

Honorable
Feb 11, 2013
Hello! ^^

I am a first time PC builder and I built my first PC two days ago. It was running so so beautifully when I first logged on. But since this afternoon it has been so laggy. Right now, as I am writing this post the text is actually lagging! I feel pretty upset because I spent ~$1400 on my build and I worked so hard to build it. :cry:

I have a:
i7 LGA 1155 Ivy Bridge CPU, a ASRock Extreme4 motherboard, 16GB RAM, a 128GB kingston hyper X SSD, a 620 watt seasonic modular power supply, a Asus 24'' LED backlit monitor, a EVGA GT 640 video card (I skimped on the video card since I don't do any gaming past freeware games), and a white corsair graphite case. I am running and official version of Windows 8 OEM.

I had problems with a laggy mouse in the very beginning but I simply switched the USB 2.0 port it was connected to and it stopped being laggy. All I did today was install synthesia, download 2 MOBI files, and install a few apps from the windows 8 store. I already tried rebooting my PC but it's still laggy.

I am 99% sure that I installed everything correctly. I'm not going to lie, connecting cables was my major setback during the build but I spent 3 hours making sure everything was connected properly.

Please help me! TT_TT

eyeage

Honorable
Apr 11, 2012
Did you update all your drivers to the most current versions? Chipset, USB, Lan, etc? What happened when it got laggy? What did you DL right before it? Are you running out of space on anything?

To be sure, the key imput is laggy?

Sorry to hear your build hit a wall somewhere. Hope you can get this resolved quickly.

lemongrassmari

Honorable
Feb 11, 2013

Thanks for your reply! My drivers are up to date, I'll try reinstalling all my drivers--I have already reinstalled my LAN driver but it did not help but I will also reinstall the other ones.

Yes, the actual key input is laggy too---this makes me think maybe it is just not a problem with my LAN.