Trouble with an old Shuttle

Kealy

Honorable
Feb 13, 2013
Hey guys,

I've been searching for an embarrassingly long time trying to find the right answers to fix my old Shuttle SN25P. A few years ago, the system started fading (I thought it was the video card) and inevitably stopped working all together. By stopped working, I mean that I had similar issues to those voiced by many in which the motherboard starts up, all attached fans, including the video card fan, start spinning, but no video output is observed on the monitor. I have no idea if it is POSTing as I cannot hear any bios beeps.

I am by no means an expert on computer hardware, but through searching many forums I have tried many things to solve this, such as:

Purchasing a replacement motherboard (pain in the butt considering its this MicroATX mobo)
Purchasing a system speaker and attempting to Breadboard the entire system (although I couldn't figure out where to plug the speaker in, which if anyone knows, would be great).
Testing all parts separately, with exception to the PSU and CPU with heatsink.

At this point, I want to fix the computer just so that I can conquer this stupid thing, but I need some help.

As best I can remember, the specs are (other than outdated)
Shuttle SN25P
FN25 socket 939 AMD Athlon 64 motherboard
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 7950
2x 1gb Corsair xms3200 DDR400 RAM
Stock PSU (I believe it is 350 Watts)

I know there are a lot of moving parts here, but any help to any of my questions would be greatly appreciated. (Especially the one about where to plug in an external speaker...)

Thanks in advance

Kealy

Honorable
Feb 13, 2013
I agree that it sounds like a PSU problem, it's just weird that it used to run this system just fine. Also, it does not POST even with just the bare minimum (no video card, ram, optical drives, etc...). Is it still a possibility that the PSU is the issue?