Sign in with
Your question

Need help w/ gaming build [$1,300]

Last response: in Systems
February 13, 2013 11:46:39 PM

Hello, I'm new to this forum, but I've heard that it is trusted and credible. First of, I'd like to tell you guys that I'm new to PC building. I don't know much about overclocking, SLI, BIOS, etc. However, I'm willing to learn and progress to make this sweet build.

I would like help on this gaming build I'm trying to get. I play Planetside 2, and waiting for Battlefield 4, and the new Batman Arkham game. It will primarily be for gaming, school work, and image creating (GIMP).

This is what I plan on getting on around late March: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/zM6i

CPU: I was told that this particular i5 can compete w/ some i7's. I was also told that it was a great overclocker.
CPU Cooler: I've read good stuff about this, and it looks awesome.
Mobo: I heard that GIGABYTE makes quality boards, but a friend told me that it isn't good as far as overclocking.
Memory: I was told that this is good quality RAM.
Storage: Seems like it's a staple and quality assured.
GPU: This thing is powerful, it should slap any game I throw at it.
Case: The design looks sleek, great airflow, and convenient.
PSU: It's a quality power supply, so it shouldn't crap out on me.
Optical Drive: I won't be watching Blu-Ray movies, so I'm fine w/ this.
OS: This is what I'm used to, and I've heard mixed feelings about Windows 8.

This is what I'll upgrade to later: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/B25i

I have basic periphreals already. (Keyboard, mouse, decent monitor).

My main concern is the motherboard, as everything depends on it. Is it a good overclocker? Is it good compared to ASUS boards?

Also, is that too much for an SSD? I don't know how much I need to hold my OS, games, and programs. Should I go w/ 120GB rather than 256GB?