Sign in with
Your question
Solved

HTPC Software

Last response: in Systems
February 14, 2013 6:55:32 AM

TH Community,

I'm planning an HTPC build in the near future and would like the opinions of some experienced HTPC owners on software choice.

I'll be using the HTPC for streaming internet content (youtube, netflix, twitch, etc) and as a network connected home server (of sorts) where I can store and replay digital movies/tv shows. I will not be recieving a terrestrial or satellite signal to the HTPC.

It will be Windows based, only because I have zero experience with Linux. If Linux is a better option, please explain why.

I have hardware in mind already so I don't need advice on that unless software specifically requires certain hardware.

My question, specifically, is what HTPC software should I go with and why? What do you use? Pros and cons? Etc.

I thank you in advance for your help with this!

Thanks!!!

More about : htpc software

February 14, 2013 7:06:50 AM

I believe XBMC is one of the most popular for HTPC's and can be run on a multitude of OS'.

Also, to answer your question about linux, generally linux is a good option because it is a lightweight distribution that doesn't require a lot of system resources, this frees up your system for handling the tasks you want it to do.
m
l
February 14, 2013 7:15:22 AM

Thanks Mike!

I'll look into XBMC. Do you have it, or just know about it?

Linux sounds great. Would I still be able to network with my windows machines elsewhere in the house if I chose Linux for my HTPC?
m
l
Related resources

Best solution

February 14, 2013 7:37:25 AM

I've used XBMC in the past and friends and family use it to and i'll be using it again when i replace the mobo on my old HTPC.

Linux will network with pretty much anything you throw at it and generally it is pretty straightforward.

If you want linux and XBMC i suggest downloading XBMCbuntu. Its XBMC and the OS rolled into one package for an easy install.