Sign in with
Your question

First Time Gaming PC Build

Last response: in Systems
February 14, 2013 4:57:30 PM

Hello everyone,

I am about to build a PC for the first time, as the title says. This PC will be for gaming and video editing. I primarily play WoW, and arena at that, so I understand that my build doesn't need to be graphic card itensive. I would really appreciate any input whatsoever on my build, as I'm sure there is room for improvement, being that, once again, I've never done this before.

My Build (ignore any peripherals, I am confident on the keyboard/mouse etc & I have a monitor)

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/Drgi

I have several concerns. Mainly dealing with fans and airflow. I will be dual mounting 140mm fans in the front of the case, putting a 140mm in the bottom, 2 interior 140mm tilted (aiming towards the rear exhaust fan)(similar to the two interiors in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnfBm114rzI ), 1 exhast 140mm fan in back, h100i with stock 120mms in top of case, with a 140mm beside this one (top seats 3 140mms, I will have corsair h100i, with one 140mm fan beside it in other words). My main concerns are only having one exhaust fan, and every other being intake. Can you use the h100i fans as exaust to? I am going to class soon and will hopefully soon post a diagram of the airflow that i intend to do. Also, dust filters. Should I be concerned about this? The case comes with the dust filters in the front and the bottom, but what about the top fans? should I look into buying filters for these? The thermal armor that comes with the h100i is good enough right? I''d like to overclock to 4.5.

My PSU is plenty, correct?

I am using intel over amd and nvidia over ati, as from what i've seen, they benchmark higher in WoW.

I chose the i7 over the i5 for rendering videos.