Sign in with
Your question

HTPC Question

Last response: in Systems
February 16, 2013 2:41:18 AM

Hi, I'm new to htpc system and was wondering about this computer someone gave me. I was given a dual xeon 3.0 cpu system with 6 gigs of ram .I was wondering if I bought a video card would I be able to use it as an HTPC system. Also If I ran XP on it I know it wouldnt see the 6 gigs but would it use it if it had too. Also any advice on Video card would be appreciated the board is older and only has a PCI X8 slot. Thanks

More about : htpc question

February 16, 2013 4:37:38 AM

First find the models of the Xeons, in -> control panel -> system....

Do you have a dual core or DP?

Either way a HTPD doesn't require much, and high end video cards are for rendering virtual 3d environments. Anything along the lines of a 6450 or < / 620 < greater is going to suffice for 1080p playback.

You can use virtually any box as a HTPC, most people on this forum seem to get their panties in a bunch about power draw. If you've hugged a few trees this week then the Xeons might not be your best choice for an always on solution. If you live in a relatively less densely populated area then the difference in $WPH is BS month to month.
m
l
February 16, 2013 4:59:17 AM

I was new to the HTPC scene not too log ago. Backdrops are a game changer for stored media.... However, when you get your HTPC to the point where you're ready to drop your set-top boxes it gets really nice.

I not too long ago added a WinTV 2650 cable card tuner @ 99$ to familiarize myself with the WMC DVR workflow. I've added more tuners since, but the 2650 remains a reliable component of my HTPC network.