Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need Help!

Last response: in Systems
February 16, 2013 12:27:58 PM

I have some experience changing out parts- never went so far as to change a mother board. Here's the situation

I have a used server with Windows 7 Ultimate & Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @2.4 GHz

It's got pre-loaded software I need

I just bought a 750w PSU to upgrade my video card and add a hard drive backup (have 700 mb) & a DVD-RW (to the CD-RW).

I have only one PCI-E slot- but that gives me 7.25" max length until I hit my 20+4 pin connector/cable for my CPU (OUCH!)

Needless to say no legitimate gaming card will fit. (I was just going to purchase a new HD 5850 Xtreme)

I intend to keep a mid-tower forever (ergonomic keyboard, upgradability etc.)

I am in business and this will be my business computer as well as personal.

Does this mean a new case? I am on a budget but I want something that will last 5 years or more (hopefully). My last XP computer did (I still have because of software at 16/32bits).

I only wanted to spend $200 in upgrades but it looks like more now. I need another Hard drive (1 gb), graphics card (HD 6850 or better),

So am I stuck with a new case and what would be the most cost effective for a 5yr+ use?

Any other recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

More about : question

February 16, 2013 12:50:28 PM

honestly everything is a littlebit confusing for me of what you wrote... lolz
i have a q6600 build and its just been replaced last month after over 5 year use. So any serious gaming out of that thing you can imagine really will not happen. it will Definetly NOT last for another 5 years, I can see it be useful for another couple of years if you overclock the cpu. There is no USE in getting an intense vid card if you DO NOT overclock, since the gpu will only run as fast as the cpu can run. if you overclock cpu; lets say to 3.2ghz then you will be able to match it with a good video card.