Sign in with
Your question

Advice on New System Build

Last response: in Systems
February 17, 2013 3:21:16 AM

Hey guys, I'm building a new rig mainly used for gaming and when I work from home. I'm a Financial Analyst and the software I use isn't very taxing (mainly SAP and Excel), but I would like to run them smoothly, all while running other programs. I will have a dual monitor setup (already have the monitors) and already have my mouse and keyboard. I haven't build a rig since High School back in like 2004, and have just been using laptops since college, so I'm rusty on the new technology. Here's what I'm thinking for the rig and would love any feedback/suggestions.

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor
MOBO: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
SSD: Was thinking Samsung 840 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk, but would be willing to get a cheaper one, but only from a reliable brand.
Case: Corsair 500R Black ATX Mid Tower Case (Purchased)
Power Supply: Corsair Enthusiast 650W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V (Purchased)

I think its a solid rig, would mainly need advice on the SSD. I am just using it as my boot drive and a few games, so don't really need anything bigger than 128GB. Would appreciate the help. Thanks!

More about : advice system build

February 17, 2013 3:23:27 AM

From what I know an Fx-8350 would be better if your running ALOT of programs, but if theres only a few then the 3570k is fine. Other than that, your build looks good. :D 
m
l
Related resources
February 17, 2013 3:30:06 AM

@burntpizza

The GTX660ti is slightly faster (very slightly) but I have to agree, the 7870XT is a better buy (price to performance wise). However, it uses more power than the 660ti, but still nothing the TX650 can't handle. Just thought OP should know.
m
l