Sign in with
Your question

DIY vs Prebuilt

Last response: in Systems
February 17, 2013 9:39:21 PM

Hello All,

I want to put together a new gaming computer for ~$1000. I want to be able to play Tera and Elder scrolls online on high graphics when it comes out. I was always told that building your own will be cheaper that buying prebuilt. I am new to building my own computers. While looking for parts I ran across an add from cyberpower. They are having a presidents day sale 10% off and I found an additional 5% off code. I was able to build the following:

CAS: Raidmax Cobra Mid-Tower Gaming Case w/ Side-Panel Window & USB 3.0 [+10] (Black Color)
CD: 24X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW Drive (BLACK COLOR)
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-3570K 3.40 GHz 6MB Intel Smart Cache LGA1155 (All Venom OC Certified)
FAN: Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan (Enhanced Cooling Performance + Extreme Silent at 20dBA) (Dual Standard 120MM Fans (Push-Pull) [+9])
HDD: 128GB SanDisk SATA III 6.0Gb/s SSD - 490 MB/s Read & 350 MB/s Write [-15] (Single Drive)
KEYBOARD: AZZA Multimedia USB Gaming Keyboard
MEMORY: 8GB (4GBx2) DDR3/1600MHz Dual Channel Memory (Kingston HyperX [+0])
MOTHERBOARD: [CrossFireX/SLI] ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Intel Z77 Chipset DDR3 ATX Mainboard w/ IRST, Lucid Virtu MVP, XFast Technologies, 7.1 HD Audio, GbLAN, 3x PCIe x16 (2 Gen3, 1 Gen2), 2x PCIe x1 & 2 PCI (All Venom OC Certified) [+59]
MOUSE: AZZA Optical 1600dpi Gaming Mouse with Weight Adjustable Cartridge
OS: Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium [+0] (64-bit Edition)
POWERSUPPLY: 600 Watts - Corsair CMPSU-600CXV2 Builder Series CX600 V2 80 Plus Certified Power Supply [+33]
VIDEO: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card [+214] (EVGA Superclocked [+0])

Which comes to $1096.25 with shipping. I can't decide if I should still build my own or just buy this premade one which comes with a 3 yr warranty. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.