Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading- what current cards are legitimately futureproof?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 1, 2013 11:05:56 PM

I've been intending to upgrade my GPU from a Asus 6870 for a couple of months now at least, but whenever I finally settle on the replacement, I get a sense that it might be wise to wait and see what is on the horizon a bit longer. The 6870 was picked up just as it was starting to fall out of the top-tier of cards, and I really would prefer not to see its replacement only last six months before being literally lapped by the majority of popular cards on the market.

The original idea was to make the move to a 7870 2gb card, but I get the sense recently that it's not going to be long before that model is considered a handicap to be running as well. If I were to jump off the AMD/Radeon ship, the 570 seems tempting on paper, but seems to be less popular than the 660 Ti as a choice for those planning new builds at the moment. Is any one of these cards really a strong enough performer to at least still be thought of as a legitimate performance card at this time next year?

The rest of my system was built as a platform for growth. Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 board with a new Seasonic M12II 620w PSU and 16gb 1866mhz Corsair memory. Am just anticipating the day that my overclocking experiments finally fries my Phenom 965 that runs 24/7 at 4.3ghz before that gets replaced with a FX8350 (I can't kill this stupid CPU, and I can't bring myself to scrap it when it's running those frequencies)
a b U Graphics card
January 1, 2013 11:31:42 PM