Solved

Help building 1st computer

I am looking for help building my 1st computer. I plan on using it for gaming and school stuff. I'd like to be able to play games like lfd2, bf3, TF2 etc... I saw this rig on YouTube, changed a couple things and was wondering if the parts are still compatible and will be able to run those types of games. I'm not looking to spend a lot and any advice would be great because I've never built a computer before. Also, I plan on using my tv as a monitor for now to keep the cost below about $700

Here's what I have:
-CPU:Intel Pentium G850, Socket 1155, Dual Core, 2.90GHz
or Intel core i5 3550 quad core (preferably not to save $)
-GPU:1GB XFX Radeon HD 7770
or SAPPHIRE Radeon 7770 oc
-MoBo:MSI H61M-P31 (G3) Motherboard
-PSU:Corsair cx 430w 80 plus bronze
-CPU cooler:Cooler master hyper 212 plus CPU cooler
-Memory:Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
-Storage:500GB Seagate ST500DM002 Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s, 7200rpm
-Case:Fractal Design Core 1000
17 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about help building computer
  1. First thing that came to mind after seeing your specs is a bigger PSU. The Radeon 7770 requires a minimum of 450 watts. Now its possible the Corsair 430 watt may cut it depending on how good it actually is, which I haven't checked but... You're taking a chance and PSU's degrade over time, plus you're leaving no room for any sort of upgrade. I'd recommend at least a 500 watt PSU. Corsair is a solid brand though. Another one I like is Antec.
  2. Thanks, I'll go with a 500w PSU. Any other tips?
  3. Kindredsouls said: