Computer stopped turning on Please HELP!

kearon

Honorable
Dec 23, 2012
Hey guys so I built my first computer just under a month ago (HURRAY!) but it just stopped working =(

I had been using it today, put it to sleep and went to shower. When i came back it was off and wouldn't turn on. Now when i say won't turn on, when i turn the PSU off or unplug it then hit the power button, all the fans turn on for 1/2 a second, just enough to get powering up but then are stopped by the time that 1/2 second has stopped. I replaced the PSU (a 500w with a 750w this past Thursday but it has worked fine - besides that the other components were the original I put together).

So I am completely new to this, what/how should i go about troubleshooting this?
Few things to mention:
The extra cords are hanging out of my case until i get twist ties, not glamorous but didnt want to stuff them in the way of my intake fan, they weren't touching anything metal, just on my wooden desk
I haven't had any issues with it at all, it all went together then worked the first time - I'd suspect the PSU was the issue but it does give power if only for a split second.

I have a Corsair 750w PSU, a Radeon HD 7750 GPU, 1 Hardrive, 1 optical drive, a quad core 3.8ghz CPU, and a here is the URL to my motherboard because I don't know what to reference it as: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128553

I am not freaking out just yet, but would really appreciate some input/help.
Thank you so much

Solution
Yes the fan should turn on. Seems weird that the corsair fried itself so quickly, but it is an electronic part so stranger things have happened. If it worked for 3 days and then the PSU fan won't turn on when you try to start the PC, then you have another faulty PSU which you would need to re-replace it. For the system you have, a quality 450 watt would do just fine. Another corsair, antec, seasonic, thermaltake... Those are the brands I'd stick with, not necessarily in that order.