Buying 3rd monitor, help me choose hardware to support it

mypetsquirrel

Honorable
Jan 2, 2013
I am an Architect that needs to have a large monitor for AutoCAD reasons. I also use it extensively for gaming. (see details below) I'm about to purchase the following monitor, and want to configure it to be my primary monitor. I currently have 2 22" 1680x1050 monitors, and want to turn them sideways and mount on either side of the large monitor.

Dell UltraSharp U3011 30" Black 7ms IPS-Panel Height, Swivel Adjustable Widescreen LCD Monitor 370 cd/m2 DC 100,000:1 (1000:1)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824260028

Here's the problem:
Currently, my single video card has 3 ports, D-Sub, DVI, and HDMI, but I'm afraid it's underpowered and runs hot for what i have now and won't be able to handle the full setup.
Option A: High end video card with 3 ports. $400-500 range
Option B: 2 Medium-high end video cards with 2 ports each in SLI setup. $200-250 range
Option C: any other configuration that will work that I haven't thought of.

What I need from you is advice on which cards would work best and what do I need to support it?

1) Is 2 SLI Moderate cards better for this than 1 high end card (assuming same price range) or not?
2) What am I going to need to look for for motherboard/CPU/Power supply support of configuration?
3) What is better for quality output? HDMI, DVI, Display Port, Composite Video, D-Sub
4) What cards deliver maximum performance when needed, but can still support 3 outputs? Only 1 needs to be Powerful though if that makes a difference.
5) What else am I missing?

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: this month hopefully BUDGET RANGE: $500 after monitor (not set in stone)

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: AutoCAD (Architect), followed by Gaming (Skyrim, Minecraft, Civilization V, UT GOTYE), followed by home theater/movies

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: I currently have 2 22" monitors running at 1680x1050 with: