Sign in with
Your question

Where do I start?

Last response: in Systems
February 20, 2013 11:40:59 AM

I have no knowledge on computer building however I would love to get into especially building a gaming computer but I dont know how to. How did you learn and what do you reccomened for me?

More about : start

February 20, 2013 12:01:47 PM

First when I was very young, I took apart every electronic thing I could find. Seen how it worked, then usually couldn't get it back together and threw it away. Then I started documenting how I took it apart and successfully got them back together again. Then I went to college for computer science, and read and read and researched and read and then read some more. Been working in the field for 20 years now. And I still research and read more and more. So if you want to build a PC, start by filling this out

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/353572-31-build-upgra...
Related resources
February 20, 2013 12:29:31 PM

Heh heh. Don't let larrym's chest-beating scare you. The only electronics that I've taken apart have been a kettle and a toasted-sandwich maker but I'd already built a couple of PCs by then.

Building a PC is a question of plugging a (perhaps surprisingly) small selection of components together and being a bit handy with a screwdriver, wires and connectors. Connectors only tend to plug into what they're supposed to plug into and can only go in the right way but there's no harm in being careful. Don't force anything that seems reluctant. There's no nitty-gritty electronics involved, let alone rocket science. However do definitely RTFMs a few times.