New Computer build problems. Spark and no image

TheHitchHiker

Honorable
Feb 20, 2013
Hello, I'm a first-time builder and I have problem with my build.

I first installed my CPU and heatsink fan, my video card and my RAM memory on my motherboard, outside of the case to test if those components worked. After installing all this, I booted the system by shorting the 2 power pins on the motherboard.

All the fans started turning and I got image and the error that there was no driver to be found (which is normal I believe, without a hard drive). But when I turned it off and retried later, I wouldn't get an image anymore, my monitor would say that it couldn't find a connection. BUT, the fans still run.

So I'm wondering if i maybe fried something (the video card?) while shorting the two pins.

Thanks already, and please help :(

jrgray93

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012
Do you have a hard drive to test in it? I'm not sure how you could have fried anything, unless you shorted the wrong pins, or the board is on an unsafe surface.

TheHitchHiker

Honorable
Feb 20, 2013
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-A55M-DS2
Video card: Radeon XFX 7750 Ghost Thermal
CPU: AMD Athlon II 651K
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance

thanks for answering so fast :)

TheHitchHiker

Honorable
Feb 20, 2013
I was advised to not immediately connect the hard drive, just the above mentioned parts (forgot the power supply: OCZ ModXStream 500W), to see if anything was wrong with them.

jrgray93

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012
Try connecting the HDD and starting the system in a safer, in-case setup. See if that yields good results. If not, I'd say damage is a possibility.

TheHitchHiker

Honorable
Feb 20, 2013

What could have happened if I would have shorted the wrong pins? Could I really have damaged something?
Because on the mobo I have, the pins were not referenced in the manual and I had to look for them myself, trying some pin sout so....