Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Building a New Computer

Last response: in Systems
February 21, 2013 1:40:43 AM

Hello,

I've been considering my options in computer acquisition for approximately 2 months now. In this time, I've basically found that to get the best bang for the buck, building your own is pretty much the way to go. That said, I've considered my options, reconsidered them, read more information than my brain can stand, and come up with the following:

CPU: AMD FX-6300

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3

Memory: Kingston HyperX Red 1600 MHz-- 2 4GB modules

Video Card: MSI Radeon HD 7770 1 GB

Storage: Toshiba 1 TB HD

PSU: Ultra LS600 600W

Case: Ultra XBlaster Pro U12-42350

Optical Drive: Lite-On IHAS 124-04

Alright, so, my question is... how does this look? I did some research, and found that the CPU and the Graphics card are basically the best you can do at my price range. The motherboard and case support USB 3.0, which seems like the direction that particular technology is heading. I have heard that Ultra power supplies are looked down upon by some, while others say that they are just fine.

This is at the absolute max of my spending limit, so any additions will have to be accompanied by some subtractions. If there's any place where corners can be cut, that's a bonus.

As far as usage is concerned, it will primarily be used for gaming--on the order of Dungeons and Dragons Online and Diablo 3--and basic Microsoft Office stuff. I feel that for those two games, it may be a tad overkill, but I want to keep my options open, should a new game come along that I want to play.