My games keep freezing and crashing. How can I fix it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thenumber16

Honorable
Jan 4, 2013
I recently (for christmas) got a Gigabyte GTX 560 ti. When I first installed it I played mainly on old games (CoD 1, GTA 3 etc.), and all was well. However as soon as I started playing on anything more advanced, it began to freeze and crash. After about five minutes the screen will go black for a few seconds before then coming back on again. It would then do it again 20 seconds later. This doesn't sound too bad, but it is extremely annoying, and sometimes instead of coming back on the game will crash. I am fairly new to, and therefore not very good at, computer hardware in general, so I could do with some help and advice.

At the moment I think it could be my card overheating, as I have a micro case, however whilst taking the side of the case off and turning the fans up to 100% seems to make CoD 2 freeze less often, it does still freeze, and a game like Far Cry 3 is unplayable. So my questions are twofold:

1) What is causing this to happen? Is it being caused by my GPU overheating or something else?

2)How can I (permanently) fix it?

PC specs:
Intel i3-2120 @ 3.30 GHz
Gigabyte GTX 560 ti
8GB RAM
1TB Hard Drive
550w OCZ PSU

Whilst playing Far Cry 3, the gpu usage is listed as 99% consistantly, and the temperature is generally in the low 80s or high 70s. I don't know whether or not this is normal.

Solution
Definitely not overheating. At this point it's either faulty card or drivers. To cross out drivers fault, I'd suggest reinstalling windows. That's the most effective and the fastest way to do it.

Do you know where your santa got the card from? If windows reinstallation doesn't help, returning the card (or contacting the warranty) may be an option.

The_OGS

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2006
Hi 16,
I suspect your settings are much too ambitious for your rig.
You should run medium settings / noVSync / no AA = high framerate.