New gaming build ~750-800

moongoof

Honorable
Feb 22, 2013
Hi everyone, I'm a total noob at this but building my own pc has been a long time goal. I have a little extra $ at the moment and want to take on this challenge. I'm primarily looking for a good gaming rig (no crazy bells or whistles) while keeping to a budget.

Approximate Purchase Date: now - beginning of March

Budget Range: $800 total

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, surfing the internet, Photoshop image editing

Are you buying a monitor: No - I think the Acer I have now should be fine

Parts to Upgrade: all – build from scratch (except monitor)

Do you need to buy OS: yes
Please note that if you're using an OEM license of Windows, you will need a new one when buying a new motherboard.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: no real vendor preference, though to save on shipping it would be good to buy majority of products from one source

Parts Preferences: no preference

Overclocking: Maybe - never done this but interested to learn

SLI or Crossfire: no

Your Monitor Resolution: 1600x900

Additional Comments: Plan to run the following: Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom and Bridge; MMORPGs such as WoW, The Secret World, ArmA II; + everyday use (internet, MS office, etc)

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: I’m looking to build my first PC and want to be able to use it for current and future games and as a digital photo editing system. I've started doing alot of digital photography. My current system will not support the newer game graphics requirements and I think it may be on it's last breaths - overheating, shutting down unexpectedly, driver errors

drunkducki

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2009
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3470 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($188.79 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASRock B75M-GL Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($66.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($47.69 @ Amazon)