Sign in with
Your question

EXTREME budget build (and a water cooling question)

Last response: in Systems
February 23, 2013 12:11:45 AM

Hey guys! About last summer I got some used (and decent) parts for a computer from my bro ( he got a new one) and now I decided I need an upgrade. I'm kinda new to this PC building thing and the only experience I had is helping my friend build his rig. I read up on some things on the web and I think I'm ready to build.

I am not a rich guy. I don't have much money but the money I do have is for living necessities and for school. I'm looking to spend 300 dollars to 400 dollars. I want at least a quadcore processor. I also have a water cooling system in my computer and is it possible to use that and transfer it over the my new computer?

My specs:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.40GHz
5.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 (5-5-5-18)
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5NSLI (Socket 775)
ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (Sapphire/PCPartner)
233GB Hitachi HDT72252 5DLA380 SCSI Disk Device (Fibre)

I already have optical drives so i do need any and I already have an OS and peripherals. I wish I could recycle as many parts as possible. I want to play some demanding games such as BF3 or something. Thanks :D 
February 23, 2013 4:01:06 AM

On that budget keep your current rig and then upgrade your GPU to a 7870 XT and increase your RAM to 8GB. The Q6600 is still a perfectly capable CPU. It's no 3570K but it's good enough that it still holds its' own.
m
l
February 23, 2013 4:17:26 AM

Hey! Thanks for answering and I was wondering if there was any other GPU options? If my current rig is fine I might spend my money towards a decent monitor or I might add it towards a new TV so my buds can come over and watch. I don't need to play the games on the highest settings. I just want to be able to play, even on the lowest settings (I'm not really interested in graphics). How do I search GPU compatible to my mobo?
m
l
February 23, 2013 4:27:31 AM

FlyKoreanBoi said: