First time Build sub $1000 Multipurpose PC

Tags:
  • Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
February 23, 2013 9:18:10 PM

Hi guys,
Long time listener, first time caller. I finally convinced the wife to allow me to build myself a computer. I plan on buying/ordering the parts at the top of the week (2-25-2013) and hopefully I will have received them in time to build over the weekend. I want to build as cheap as possible, but I have to set a cap at $1000. The primary use will be Gaming first and foremost, if this box can blow my mind with amazing game play I'll be fine with that. Secondary uses will be CAD, Photo editing, general browsing, and school work if it can do these well that's fine, but if not no big deal. I'll have this in the front room with the TV so any HTCP features would be a nice bonus. I won't be buying a monitor, but I'll be using a small 1080p Samsung TV that I have. I've never built a PC before nor do I own a computer worthy of upgrading so this will be from the ground up. I'd like to use Windows 8 and have included it in the budget. I would prefer to order from Newegg.com and will also be buying some parts at the local Microcenter and Tigerdirect stores, I'm located in Houston, Tx. I'd like to overclock but it isn't a definite must at this point, but i would however like a definite upgrade path. Don't plan on using more than 1 Gpu. There isn't really a specific game I'm looking to play I plan to play and do a little bit of everything.

TLDR: First time builder gaming pc for under $1000 from the ground up.

Here's my list so far.

CPU: $190 + $30 warranty
Core i5 3570K 3.4GHz LGA 1155 Processor
Microcenter has this for $190 which seems like a steal, if a cheaper cpu can provide as much power I'd be willing to change.

Cooler: $30
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus