How to fix heating issues?

prudhvirazz

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2013
Hello friends,

I am a gamer. I mostly play World of Warcraft (WOW) and few other games. Lately I am not playing on my PC because of Heating issues (I think). I am not an expert when it comes to computers, which is why I am asking for your help.

Here is the Spec:

2.5 Year old - Dell Studio 1558 x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 450 @ 2.40GHz, 2400 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5000 series (AMD); 2.75 GB
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 3.86 GB
Available Physical Memory 1.91 GB
Total Virtual Memory 7.73 GB
Available Virtual Memory 5.18 GB

[Please ask me if you need more details about my PC]

I play on the lowest possible settings. The problem is my PC gets heated very quickly (15-20 mins) and FPS drops drastically from 100 to 15 and even low if played for long hours. WOW is a simple game, doesn't required high end gaming config to play wow well in high settings. They say WOW is dependent more on CPU. I think my PC is good enough to play wow on high setting without any problem.

First of all I would like to know if "Heating issues" is the main problem for poor performance ? If so please guide me on how to fix it. If not please help me find the root cause. any help will be greatly appreciated.

PS: I have spent a lot of Money to buy this so its very disappointing that its not working as it is supposed to. I took my PC to Dell service centre 3 times during warranty period. Each time they said they have fixed everything and there won't be any problem further. But they never solved this problem really. They replaced few parts and fixed heating issues (at least they said so) I am not a expert so I couldn't figure out if they really did or not. I gave up on them.

hillmanant

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2011
Hello prudhvirazz :hello: