Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Watercooling radeon hd 6990 on a silverstone tj09

Last response: in Systems
February 24, 2013 10:55:43 PM

Hello, im new to building pc and specially watercooling i bought a used radeon hd 6990 with an ek water block so i was wondering what water cooling would be the best to cool it with, thinking about buy a rad support bracket for the silverstone case so i can put a longer rad but not sure what is compatible and whats not also i want maye dual bay reservoir any suggestions on that and the pump would be nice thanks :) 
February 24, 2013 10:57:27 PM

also do you think i should watercool my cpu(corei7 980x) since my videocard is watercooled?
m
l
February 25, 2013 3:32:27 AM

For Gaming also to let you know what im working with

CPU: core i7 980x
GPU: Radeon HD 6990 with ek waterblock
Chassis: Silverstone TJ09
MOBO: MSI bigbang xpower I
PSU: Seasonic 1000w Platinum
DDR: Gskill Sniper gaming 1866 2x8gb

i got a hand me down radiator, reaservoir and pump so not sure what it is

i think its a thermaltake single 120mm fan radiator and a small reservoir and pump i dont think its enough to cool down my video card when i play games it goes up tp 90 degrees celcius so i want to upgrade it put a radiator support bracket so i can install a dual 120mm fan inside not sure yet what to put as a reservoir pump and radiator though i would appreciate some suggestions thank you
m
l
Related resources
February 25, 2013 4:31:42 AM

The Systems forum isn't really intended for niche topics like water-cooling more to do with general systems advice, but there is a dedicated water-cooling forum where people more knowledgeable in the subject can answer.
Luckily I know water-cooling so I'l give a basic run-down, but you should restart the topic over in the WC forum.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/forum-29-380.html

Also you may want to read through the WC'ing sticky, has a ton of info inside and will likely answer many of your questions on the topic.