i7 Gaming Build

Lid2z

Honorable
Jan 28, 2013
This is the first time I'm building a PC, and I'm excited. I have an idea of what I'm doing, and if I get stuck I'll use manuals. I know this is my first build, and I'm using pretty expensive parts, but I figure it's cheaper now to spend the money then to have to upgrade later... First of all am I going to run into any problems with this build (components below), and what should I expect the first time I boot up the computer?

Case: Rosewill Thor v2 (full tower)
MoBo: AsRock z77 Extreme4
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k Ivy Bridge (I'm doing more then gaming, and I think this CPU will come in handy when doing school work... computer programming major)
GPU: Galaxy Gefore GTX 680 White Edition
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16 GB (2x8)
Power Supply: Corsair 850W
CPU Cooler: ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-R
Cooling: The case comes with a few fans, but incase I want to replace the 230mm fans, I'll have 5 of these
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD

Approximate Purchase Date: March 7
Budget Range: $2200 usd
System Usage from Most to Least Important: School (learning to program), Gaming, Video Editing
Are you buying a monitor: Yes
Parts to Upgrade: see above
Do you need to buy OS: Yes Win7 64-bit
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com
Parts Preferences: Intel, Nvidia GeForce
Overclocking: Maybe when I learn to
SLI or Crossfire: No
Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080
Additional Comments:
Why Are You Upgrading?: I'm not upgrading anything, except this old compaq laptop I got three years ago

pete123edgar

Honorable
Feb 8, 2013
1st thing is your ram. If you are doing some crazy heavy ram usage, there is no need for 16gb. 8gb is enough for a computing major/gaming. Are you going to SLI that? If not, that is too much power that is not need. Get a 750W. THat would save you $50 I think? Anyway, do you have a storage? Are you going to overclock? If not you don't really need an unlock version. I think that's it. Good luck.