Need advice on build (i7-3770 - radeon 7870 - what motherboard?)

suissidle

Honorable
Feb 27, 2013
hey guys and gals, i've been meaning to build a new machine and found your forum very useful and interesting so far. i have some experience in changing parts here and there, but i've never built a whole system from scratch. i'm currently using a 3 year old laptop which is clearly showing its age/limits, especially in the graphics department. since i find myself using it at the same location most of the time, i decided to switch to a desktop pc for the most demanding work.

usage:
up to 3 monitors and multitasking
heavy tabbed browsing with flash
image processing (lightroom, gimp, photoshop, etc)
watching movies
some gaming, nothing heavy (e.g. entropia universe)
programming and computing (c++, matlab, etc)
simple dev server experiments (php, mysql, etc)
video editing
virtual machines

other considerations/requirements:
quiet operation
no overclocking of either cpu or gpu
resale value (either of parts or complete setup) is somewhat important, although i've yet to sell any hardware i own =D
sli or crossfire: no experience with it, but looks like an interesting possibility for a future upgrade; also interested in gpu computing

i'd like to stick to a $800 - $900 budget, divided about equally among:
1) cpu
2) gpu
3) mobo + ram + psu + case + cables etc.

not to be included in this budget are:
operating system (windows 7 x64, possibly others on multiboot)
storage (ssd + hdd configuration, to be determined separately)
monitor(s) (probably one asus vs247h [recommended 1,920 x 1,080] as main)
other periferals

barring serious criticism i'll settle with:

1) intel core i7-3770 (3.4ghz - 3.9ghz turbo - 77w) - $300

2) gigabyte GVR787OC (amd radeon hd 7870 2gb gddr5 1100mhz) - $250 i don't know if a 7950 card would be worth the extra cost, considering i don't intend to overclock it.