Sign in with
Your question

Dual SLI Question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 9, 2013 7:49:48 PM

This is to do with my Brothers computer, since for some reason the only card that will work in his primary PCI slot is a GeForce 7900 I figured his best option is to run SLI.

I'm new to it and he has no idea anyway so I was wondering if someone could help with the following:

1. Is any software/hardware required to run SLI (The connector cable I know about)
2. Would two 7900's be an improvement? Or could he SLI with another card to get more power?
3. Running two 7900's would he be required to upgrade his PSU from 350w?

More about : dual sli question

January 9, 2013 8:08:25 PM

I'm guessing you can get a single card for the same or less than another 7900 that will perform much better with modern feature and support. ?HD 7750

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

You'll have to look up the power draw might be less than the 7900, certainly less than 2 of them which probably isn't possible with that supply.
January 9, 2013 8:12:20 PM

HD 7750 peak 43w
7900 GT peak 48w

The 7750 is a far superior card in virtually every way.
Related resources
January 9, 2013 8:12:44 PM

Thanks for the reply, so newb question but I'm assuming it's possible to hook up two different branded cards? I can upgrade his PSU, a 450w should be okay?
January 9, 2013 8:15:05 PM

bjaminnyc said:
HD 7750 peak 43w
7900 GT peak 48w

The 7750 is a far superior card in virtually every way.

Oh it seems you've misunderstood, I'm looking to SLI his current GeForce 7900 with another card if it was possible to replace it I would of done already.
January 9, 2013 8:16:03 PM

You can but for gaming its not going to help. There is the exception of course of using a nvidia card for physics but that a rather complicated endeavor requiring relatively high end cards.

Unless you planning on running more than 3 monitors there wouldn't be any reason to keep the 7900 in the case.