Sign in with
Your question

Best purchasing strategy

Last response: in Systems
February 27, 2013 9:24:56 PM

Hi all, I'm planning to build a rig in late 2014 and since I am a newb to pc gaming and this is going to be my first build I am going to ask a question to all of you.

Which is the best purchasing strategy when building a pc and you have budget constraints?

Building a rig with the best stuff I can afford and upgrade (futureproof)

Or building a mid end rig and when it's no good anymore building another one with mid end technology from the time? (2.5 years between build) I would save the HDD and case though.

Example: My high end rig nowadays would have i5 3570k + 7970/670 + 16 GB 2400mhz

Mid end rig would be an FX 6300 + 7850 or 4300/7870 + 8 GB 1600mhz

This would be the Low end just in case: A10 5800K + 8GB 2400MHZ / Phenom 965 BE + 7770

I just wanted to know because I realized that points in time are key when buying and planning your upgrade strategy is also essential.

Thanks!

More about : purchasing strategy

February 27, 2013 9:37:27 PM

I would go for the strongest I feel comfortable doing, then don't upgrade again until you feel you need/ want to. I don't see why you would be planning 1.5+ years in advance though.
February 27, 2013 9:48:41 PM

lt_dan_zsu said:
I would go for the strongest I feel comfortable doing, then don't upgrade again until you feel you need/ want to. I don't see why you would be planning 1.5+ years in advance though.

Yeah that's never a good way to go. If you're planning in advance you'll never be satisfied with the hardware you have. Because the thing is there will always be newer and better hardware out no matter when you buy. You just have to go for it.
Related resources
February 27, 2013 10:39:35 PM