Sign in with
Your question

New PC Build HELP!

Last response: in Systems
March 1, 2013 4:26:12 AM

I just built my new pc and im having some problems. Keep in mind that i am a complete noob to this.

Parts:
i5 3570k
Corsair Vengeance 8gb(4x2)
asrock z77 extreme 4
phantom 410
wd hdd 500g
ocz modxstream pro 700w
Windows 8

Currently i have no graphics card just using the onboard graphics for now.

Im having some trouble with my new build. I have no idea what drivers to install. When i installed windows 8, i directly went to check for updates through Windows and downloaded around 30 something. Im having problems with my screen flickering and making weird color flickers or glitches. I dont seem to understand whats going on. Can Anyone Help please?

More about : build

March 1, 2013 4:39:05 AM

Welcome to Tom's Hardware Forums,
A few questions here, what monitor/TV (make and model) is the computer connected to? How is it connected (VGA, HDMI, DVI etc)? What resolutions are you running? Are all cables firmly in place?
m
l
March 1, 2013 4:44:07 AM

Hey there, i forgot to mention that, maybe the tv is a problem?
Im using a toshiba 40 something inch. with an hdmi. Im only using it for not until i can get a monitor. I also have an lcd monitor from another computer.
The only thing that i have to say about the tv is that when i was messing around with the tv settings, i can see that the flickering happened behind the settings. (if you know what i mean?)
m
l
Related resources
March 1, 2013 4:46:15 AM

the t.v. was running on 1920 x 1080 and so was the computer. I also noticed that the web browser and the quick menu when i put my mouse towards the top left are kind of off, as in not in the tv's boundaries.
m
l
March 1, 2013 4:48:26 AM

I'm going to suggest trying the monitor from the other computer, see what you get that way - it could simply be the HDMI cable itself... maybe
m
l
March 1, 2013 4:52:05 AM