New to custom builds, looking for advice

SubaruGuy94

Honorable
Mar 1, 2013
I am attempting to save up for my first custom build, and I am looking for some advice as to what components I should be using. I want to use it for video edinting (nothing too advanced, though) and various everyday tasks, like watching videos, doing homework, and browsing the Intrernet. I want to have a reliable machine that can be easily upgraded in the future. As I am currently a student, I don't want to spend too much money, preferably less than $500.

I want a decent processor, at least 2.5GHZ... thinking Core i5 or Core 2 Duo. Im not really sure which would be better and where I could get the best price. Im not sure if I really need dedicated graphics and what sort of cost that would involve.

I really want an SSD... what makes and models are good? Where can I get the best price? I dont need anything too large, but I dont want anything too small either, as I will be storing photos and videos on it.

I really have no idea about motherboards, to be honest.

What power supplys are good? How much power would I need?

Cases... I want something well-made, but not too fancy. I might want some LEDs, but I dont want to spend more than like $100 on a case. Where can I find a good one?

Like I said before, I want a system that can be easily upgraded and expanded upon, as I want it to last for a while, so that will be a big priority in this build.

Some advice on monitors would be helpful, but I will likely use my old Dell LCD monitor or get a decent second-hand one.

This will be my first build, so any advice, information, tips, or help will be usefull. Thanks.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($133.79 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASRock 880GM-LE FX Micro ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($59.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($44.99 @ Amazon)