Installing XP (square peg round hole)

G

Here's my trouble in heartrending detail.
I'm a newbie. I've decided to put together my first box and everything was going well untill.....

I've installed the following
Soyo Dragon+ Motherboard
Yamaha 24x CDRW
512 crucial DDR DRAM
Western Digital 40GB Hard Drive
GeForce Ti 200 video card
Everything else is not hooked up yet since I intend to add them once I have a system up and running.

The Trouble.
When I turn the system on everything starts fine. The hard drive spins up, the fans all go on etc. I've checked and doublechecked the connections.
I get two short beeps on a black screen and then the light type for a few seconds. A few more seconds of black and then the motherboard BIOS come up. The BIOS are fairly extensive and I've changed all the parameters I could think of and then reset them in an attempt to be able to load XP or format the hard drive. To no avail. Whatever I do I cannot go anywhere but the motherboard BIOS.

I've tried:
Switching the Bios to load from CD Drive.
Making a system flopy of Windows 98 and loading from the floppy.
fiddling around with the Bios,
rebooting while hitting esc. or delete or enter numerous times.
loading the cd before or during boot up etc.

I'm stumped. I don't, in fact, know what is supposed to happen having never done this before.
I hope I've been through.
Any help is appreciated.

Jeff

<b><font color=purple> Ain't no sunshine when she's gone. </font color=purple> </b>

jktzweiss

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2001
Have you partitioned your hard drive? If not, you must. Use your windows 98 boot disk and at a: fdisk & create a primary dos partition, exit fdisk and at a: format c: /s. After format is complete, restart and enter bios and change your 1st boot device to your master cdrom device save and exit your bios and reboot with xp cdrom in your drive. When xp start up begins, it will give you the opportunity to change the file system over to ntfs if you like.. Hope this helps..JW

G